Our Staff, Board of Directors, and Advisory Council Members

Peter Wolfgang, President, FIC Action and Executive Director,
Family Institute of Connecticut

                                     Hartford Courant photo by Shana Surek, 7/26/07

Peter Wolfgang joined the Family Institute of Connecticut as Director of Public Policy in 2004 and became
Executive Director in 2007. Peter holds a Juris Doctorate from UConn School of Law and is a member of the Connecticut Bar. He also has a Bachelors Degree in International Studies from The American University in Washington, D.C.

Peter was born and raised in Manchester, CT. He and his wife, Leslie, live in Waterbury with their four
children: Elizabeth, 7, Katharine, 5, Isaac, 3, and Rose, 1. In 2006 they were named "Family of the Year"
by the Connecticut State Council of the Knights of Columbus.

Lawrence Taffner, Director of Operations, Family Institute of Connecticut

Lawrence Taffner, served 4 years in the United States Marine Corps. He holds a B.S. Degree from St. John's University. After many years of corporate experience as an accountant for a large international firm and after serving as president of a company, Larry joined FIC as Director of Operations in 2003. Larry  has volunteered extensively with inner-city youth and as a religious education teacher and also is currently active as a Youth Minister.  






Board of Directors:

Ken Von Kohorn, Chairman

Ken is the founder and proprietor of Von Kohorn Research & Advisory, a money management firm based in Westport, CT.

Richard Caporaso, Treasurer

Rich is a partner with KPMG International.

John Hummel

John is president and a founder of the investment firms AIS Futures Management, LLC, and AIS Capital Management, LLC.

Gary G. Jackson

Gary is Executive Vice President of The Paradigm Group. Paradigm consults with major corporations
 to help them achieve measurable improvements in sales, service and management so as to enhance customer loyalty.

Dick Kazarian

Dick is Senior Vice President of Shellpoint, LLC.

Ed Morgan

Ed is the President of the Bowery Mission in New York City.

National Advisory Council:

Larry Arnn, President, Hillsdale College
David Blankenhorn, President, Institute for American Values
Robert George, McCormick Professor of Jurisprudence and Director of the James MadisonProgram in American Ideals and Institutions, Princeton University
Annette Kirk, Kirk Center for Cultural Renewal
Dr. Jeffrey Satinover, psychiatrist, nationally recognized expert on homosexuality,
visiting lecturer at Princeton, and the author of The Quantum Brain: The Search for Freedom and the Next Generation of Man(Wiley, 2001), Cracking the Bible Code (Morrow, 1997) and Homosexuality and the Politics of Truth (Baker Books, 1996).

Legislative Advisory Council:

Mayor Michael Jarjura, Mayor, Waterbury
Win Smith, former state senator, Milford
Greg M. Hannan, an attorney in private practice, Wallingford

Clergy Advisory Council:

Rev. LeRoy Bailey, Jr., Senior Pastor, The First Cathedral, Bloomfield
Rabbi Daniel Greer, The Yeshivah of New Haven
Rabbi Yehoshua S. Hecht, Beth Israel Synagogue, Norwalk
Rev. Earl M. Inswiller, Jr., Living Waters Fellowship Church, Windsor Locks 

Development Advisory Council:

Justin Haas, Director of Development, International Institute for Culture
Mark H. Johnson, Director of Development, Klingberg Family Centers

Media Advisory Council:

Drew M. Crandall
Marcia Segelstein, is the author of Mom and the Gurus of Guiltlessness in First Things and she also writes a monthly column for FIC's newsletter, Connecticut Family Matters.

Parental Advisory Council:

Enola G. Aird, Activist Mother and Affiliate Scholar, Institute for American Values and Director of the Motherhood Project
Dana Mack, author of The Assault on Parenthood.

Click to contact FIC.
Click to join FIC.
Click to support FIC.

This is the Web site of Family Institute of Connecticut, Family Institute of Connecticut Action, and Family Institute of Connecticut Action Committee.
Learn more about the distinction between these components of the Family Institute of Connecticut .